Uncategorized

Creative Challenges

It’s a new year, so it’s time to think about our creative pursuits for the coming year. I participate in a variety of creative challenges throughout the year to try new themes or techniques, but also to keep myself challenged and my art fresh.

Here are some free creative activities that you can take part in:

Photo challenges – there are a variety of photo challenges available throughout the year:

Photo a day hosted by Chantelle at Fat Mum Slim Each month a new list of prompts is shared for the community.

Lisa Rough from Sacred Circle Creative Life has embarked on a gratitude photo a day project for 2016 inspired by Brene Brown’s Gifts of Imperfections online course. She has created a Facebook group to create a community for those taking part. If you are on Instagram you can tag your
photos with #366daysofuntamedordinary

Capture your Grief – 31 days of mindful healing,
reflection and storytelling hosted by CarlyMarie Project Heal
each October in honour of Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness month.

Susannah Conway hosts
the August Break and December Reflections photo prompts in the months of August and December.

Art challenges

Lisa Sonora hosts a 30 day journal project each January – this years theme is Creative Fire.

Anoeska from the Netherlands is hosting Zenuari a daily zentangle challenge – she has put together a challenge booklet that can be downloaded from her website. She suggests that if posting daily is too much pressure, you could make it a weekly challenge.

Louise Gale is hosting a weekly challenge – A Year of Nature Art – each week focuses on a different theme, the theme for week one is leaves. Louise will be sharing photos, sketches and her creations to her Instagram and facebook page.

So what are my creative challenges for this year?

I’m participating in Lisa’s 366 days of untamed ordinary photo challenge, I’m sharing my daily photos on Instagram.

I’m also considering joining Louise’s Year of Nature Art as I’m challenging myself to draw different things in an attempt to improve my drawing skills.

For the month of January I’m working on a journal prompt project using Mandala sacred symbol stones from Sarah Wilder – The Fifth Element Life. Each day I post a new mandala inspired by the prompt. I share the prompts on Instagram and my Facebook page

Leave a comment