Art Journal Pages

30 Journals – 30 Days – My Interview

For the past month I have been following along the 30 Journals – 30 Days Interviews over at Dirty Footprints Studio and now at the end of the month she has invited everyone to post their own interview – so here is my interview:

–How long have you been Art Journaling?  When I was a child I made scrapbooks and I’ve kept written journals for most of my life. I tried art journaling, but it just didn’t seem to ‘click’. That was until I took Kelly Kilmer’s A Prompt a Day Online Workshop in Jan 2009 and then Julie Prichard’s online workshops. It was the kick start that I needed now I prefer art journaling to my written journals.

 

–How has Art Journaling impacted, changed, or enhanced your life?  Writing to me is therapy – it allows me to get everything out – thoughts, feelings, emotions, fears. Art journaling is an extension of that. It allows me to explore things in a new way. I have experienced a lot of pregnancy problems and the loss of 4 of my son’s to Stillbirth and Neonatal death – journaling saved me. I created a Grief Writing Workshop for Bereaved Parents – now I am looking at ways of incorporating art journaling into that workshop.

 

–What are a few of your favourite Art Journaling materials to use?  Acrylic paints, micron pens, glue stick, uniball signo white pens, old books, magazines, scrapbooking papers,  photo’s, prismacolor pencils.

 –Who are some of your favorite Art Journalers?

Kathryn Antyr – Collage Diva

Lynn Fisher

Michelle Ward

Ingrid Dijkers

Karen Bartimole

LK Ludwig

Stephanie Smith

 

–What kind words of encouragement would you say to an Art Journal newbie?

Just give it a go! Play – your journal is a great place to play and experiement. Look to others for inspiration and ideas, but don’t compare your work to others – let your art speak for itself.

 

–Where can we contact you…give us some link LOVE!!

My blog https://4ravens.wordpress.com

 

8 thoughts on “30 Journals – 30 Days – My Interview

  1. I’m so glad you got to participate in this awesome project Megan. Great pages too! (missed your posts girrl, I suppose the summer…or is it fall, that is keeping you busy.)

    1. Hi Lynn – I love your journal pages and wanted to share the love! It is winter here and I have been so busy with work, but I have been journaling. I’ll try to post more often 🙂

  2. Hi Megan, I loved your interview! I love that you are fearless and brave to create something from your loss’s to help not only yourself but others!
    Your page with the hand and bird is quite beautiful.
    Have a lovely week, Theresa

Leave a comment